The Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin has ruled that three Members of Parliament on the side of the governing New Patriotic Party are in breach of the 15-day rule.

The absence of the MPs from the Chamber is said to be in breach of the standing orders of the House which stipulates that an MP shall not absent him/herself from parliamentary sittings for fifteen (15) consecutive days without recourse to the Speaker.

Article 97 (1) (c) of the 1992 Constitution and Order 17 of the Standing Orders of Parliament state emphatically: “A Member shall not absent himself during a meeting for more than fifteen sittings without the permission in writing of the Speaker. Any member infringing this Order shall have his conduct referred to the Privileges Committee.”

Adjoa Sarfo, Ken Agyepong and Henry Quatey

The three MPs whose conduct has been referred to the Privileges Committee include Dome-Kwabenya MP, Sarah Adwoa Safo; Ayawaso Central MP, Henry Quartey and Assin Central MP, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong.

In a formal communication to the House on Tuesday, April 5, 2022, Mr Bagbin said that based on independent checks by the Table Office of Parliament, the three MPs have breached the 15-day rule.


About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *