As part of policies to transform its membership and professional enhancement the Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) has inaugurated nine standing committees to strengthen its operation.

The committees would among other things, serve as policy drafting bodies for the association to adopt for implementation.

The Nine standing committees include the Membership Vetting Committee (MVC), the Professional Development Committee (PDC), the Social Affairs Committee (SAC), the International Relations Committee ( IRC), and the Finance and Resource Mobilisation Committee (FRMC).

The Committees which are been formed pursuant to Articles 30 and 31 of the GJA 2004 Constitution also include the Ethics and Disciplinary Council (EDC) as enshrined in Article 42 of the association’s constitution, the Project Management Committee (PMC) and a Social Media Visibility Committee (SMVC).

Members of the Committees

In his remark, the President of the GJA, Mr. Albert Kwabena Dwumfour, said the formation of the Committees was in line with the Association’s constitutional obligation to take every legitimate step to transform and enhance the operation of the association as a professional body for the ultimate welfare of members.

According to him, the effort is to ensure that all media practitioners in the country come under the umbrella associated with the responsibility of promoting the highest professional standards.

“We are not oblivious of the importance of the media as the country works towards economic recovery amid political activities ahead of the 2024 general election,” emphasizing that media practitioners are going to play pivotal roles in the transformation policies.

Mr. Dwumfour however urged members of the Committees to offer their best and bring their experience to bear for the interest of the association.

Mr. George Sarpong, the Executive Secretary of the National Media Commission (NMC), applauded the GJA executives for the idea to reposition the association to enhance its works and assured of the Commission and his support to the association to achieve its task.

He also urged the association to work to ensure that every media practitioner in the country comes under the umbrella association to help stamp out some of the unprofessional media practices in the country.

Committee members

The Vetting Committee Members are the GJA President, Albert Dwumfour;  A. B. Kafui Kanyi of the Ghana News Agency (GNA); Seth Eyiah from the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation, Mary Mensah of the Daily Graphic, and Nana Yaa Konadu of UTV.

Professional Development Committee members are the GJA General Secretary, Kofi Yeboah; Tina Aforo-Yeboah, former Editor of The Spectator; Ekuoba Gyasi of Atinka FM, Daniel Kenu of the Daily Graphic, and Ernest Obeng-Anim of the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation.

The Social Affairs Committee members consist of the GJA National Organising Secretary, Dominic Hlordzi; Grace Nana Esi Boateng of Oman FM, John Vigah of the Ghanaian Times, Peter Ankomah of the Daily Dispatch, and Alice Tettey of the Ghana News Agency, Cape Coast.

International Relations Committee members are the GJA Vice-President, Linda Asante Agyei; Ramsey Benambe of the Ghana News Agency, Suleiman Mustapha of the Daily Graphic, Nii Odartey Lamptey of the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation and Zambaga Rufai of Metro TV.

The Finance & Resource Mobilisation Committee members are the GJA Treasurer, Audrey Dekalu; Donald Ato Dapatem of the Daily Graphic, Samuel Ofori Ayim of Atinka FM, Mabel Aku Baneseh of CREDICOMMS Limited, and Yaa Oforiwaa Asare-Peasah, former Editorial Manager, GNA.

Members of the Ethics and Disciplinary Council are Colonel (retd) Mbawine Atintande; the Managing Editor of the Insight Newspaper, Kwesi Pratt Jnr; former Director of News, GTV, Betty Apau-Oppong; lecturer, University of Media, Arts and Communication Studies, Tanko Musah Zakaria, and former Director of News, Graphic Communications Group Limited, Mavis Kitcher.

Project Management and Socia Media Visibility Committees members are the GJA Public Affairs Officer, Rebecca Ekpe; a former Night Editor, Daily Graphic, Vance Azu; the Editor, Sena Radio Online, Michael Mawugbe; Maame Efua Mensah of UTV; the Editor, The Spectator, Emmanuel Amponsah; Fred Smith of Joy FM, and Kissi Yeboah, formerly of the GNA.


 Send your news stories and articles to or via WhatsApp at +233 0543 900 732


About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *