After months of vigorous campaigns, 28 Incumbent Members of Parliament (MPs) of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) lost the parliamentary primaries for constituencies have lost in their bids to return to Parliament.

This development signals a major shift in the party’s internal dynamics ahead of the upcoming 2024 general elections.

Among the notable figures who falter in their attempt are Collins Ntim of Offinso North, Sheila Bartels of Ablekuma North, and Adwoa Safo of Dome Kwabenya.

Other prominent members including Tina Mensah from Weija-Gbawe and Gifty Twum Ampofo of Abuakwa North also failed to secure their positions.

The list continues with Okyere Agyekum from Fanteakwa South, Emmanuel Anhwere of Atwima Nwabiagya, and Emmanuel Gyamfi representing Odotobri, alongside Isaac Asiamah of Atwima Mponua and Elvis Donkoh from Asebu Abura Kwamankese.

Additional members who lost their bids include Bright Wereko Brobby of Hemang Lower Denkyira, Eugene Antwi from Subin, Ericsson Abeka of Shama, and Joseph Cudjoe representing Effia. The Fanteakwa North seat held by Amankwah Asiamah, John Bennam’s Zabzugu constituency, and Nii Noi Nortey’s Tema Central also saw changes.

Freda Prempeh from Tano North, Ama Pomaa of Juaben, Akwasi Boateng representing Bosome-Freho, Kwadwo Asante of Suhum, Moses Anim from Trobu, Dickson Adomako Kissi of Anyaa-Sowutuom, Osei Frimpong from Abiriem, George Obeng Takyi of Manso Nkwanta, Mahama Asei from Daboya Mankarigu, and Lariba Abudu of Walewale complete the list of incumbents who were unseated.

This unprecedented outcome has sent ripples through the political landscape of Ghana, as the NPP prepares to reorganize and strategize for the forthcoming electoral challenges.

The party is now faced with the task of rallying its base and integrating new faces into its parliamentary team, a move that could either invigorate the party’s prospects or pose new challenges.

Out of the 28 fallen MPs, seven are from the Greater Accra, which is half of the Region’s constituencies that the NPP controls in Parliament.

Readers would recall the NPP, after securing a substantial majority with 169 seats in the 2016 presidential and parliamentary elections, faced a significant setback in 2020.

The Party experienced a notable decline, losing 32 seats and reducing the numbers to 137 whilst the opposition National Democratic Congress (NDC) gained some seats, bringing their total to 137.

The NPP only regained the parliamentary majority when an independent candidate decided to align with the Party in Parliament.

As the NPP navigates these internal changes in preparation for the 2024 election, the party would be acutely aware of the fate that befell it in the 2020 elections and would want to reorganize quickly before December.

The results of these primaries may well set the tone for the country’s political trajectory in the coming years.

List of incumbent NPP MPs who lost Saturday’s primaries so far.

The defeated MPs are:

Freda Prempeh (Tano North)
Bright Wireko-Brobbey (Twifo Hemang Denkyira)
Joseph Cudjoe (Effia)
Yves Hans Nii Noi Nortey (Tema Central)
Collins Augustine Ntim (Offinso North)
Ama Pomaa Boateng (Juabeng)
Gifty Twum Ampofo (Abuakwa North)
Elvis Morris Donkor (Abura Aseibu Kwamankese)
Dickson Adomako Kissi (Anyaa-Sowutuom)
Isaac Kwame Asiamah (Atwima Mponua)
Eugene Boakye Antwi (Subin)
Tina Mensah (Weija-Gbawe)
Moses Anim (Trobu)
Sarah Adwoa Safo (Dome/Kwabenya)
Sheila Bartels (Ablekuma North)
Kwabena Amankwah Asiamah (Fanteakwa North)
Hajia Lariba Zuweira (Walewale)
John Frimpong Osei (New Abirem)
Emmanuel Akwasi Gyamfi (Odotobri)
Kwadwo Asante (Suhum)
Okyere Agyekum (Fanteakwa South)
Samuel Abaka Ericksson (Shama)
Mahama Seini (Daboya Mankarigu)
George Obeng Takyi (Manso Nkwanta)
Joseph Bennan (Zabzugu)
Akwasi Darko Boateng (Bosome-Freho)
Emmanuel Anhwere (Atwima Nwabiagya)
Owusu Afrifa-Mensah (Amasaman).



About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *