Members of the Majority Caucus in Parliament have denied media reports of changes in its leadership.

The caucus claimed the purported changes as reported in the media on Monday, February 19, were falsehood and that such decision has never been discussed nor agreed by the caucus.

At a press briefing in parliament on Tuesday, February 20, The First Deputy Speaker of Parliament and MP for Bekwai, Joseph Osei-Owusu, denied there were any changes within the leadership.

This comes on the back of media reports that Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu, the current Majority Leader and Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, will be replaced by Alexander Afenyo-Markin, the current Deputy Majority Leader.

The reports further added that Frank Annoh Dompreh, the present Majority Chief Whip and MP for Nsawam-Adoagyiri will ascend to the role of Deputy Majority Leader, thereby creating space for Habib Iddrisu, the current First Deputy Chief Whip, to assume the position of Majority Chief Whip.

In addition, Patricia Appiagyei was named as the First Deputy Majority Chief Whip with the position of Second Deputy Chief Whip being offered to Alex Tetteh Djornobuah, MP for Sefwi-Akontombra.

But member of the caucus led by Joe Osei-Owusu said the Caucus has not contemplated any such moves.

“The publications that have been circulating, suggesting changes in our leadership, are unequivocally false. We wish to assure the public and our members that we have full confidence in our current leadership team, and there are no plans to alter this structure. The status quo remains,” Joe Wise said.


Send your news stories and articles to or via WhatsApp +233 0543 900 732


About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *