The National Council of the New Patriotic Party (NPP) has officially confirmed Alexander Afenyo-Markin, Member of Parliament for Effutu, as the new Majority Leader, succeeding Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu who resigned from the position.

The confirmation took place during a meeting chaired by the NPP’s General Secretary, Justin Kodua Frimpong, on Friday, February 23, 2024. Attendees included members of the Majority Caucus who deliberated on recommendations from the National Executive Committee regarding the leadership reshuffle.

Presenting the recommendations and the concurrence letter from the Majority Caucus, the General Secretary sought approval from the National Council, which convened at the Alisa Hotel in Accra.

This process aligns with the provisions of Order 6 of the Standing Orders of Parliament (2024), as interpreted by Speaker Alban SK Bagbin, highlighting the importance of parliamentary caucus input in leadership selection while ensuring party democracy and adherence to parliamentary norms.

The newly appointed leadership team for the Majority Front Bench includes:

Majority Leader: Alexander Afenyo-Markin, MP for Effutu

Deputy Majority Leader: Patricia Appiagyei, MP for Asokwa

Majority Chief Whip: Frank Annoh Dompreh, MP for Nsawam/Adoagyiri

First Deputy Majority Chief Whip: Habib Iddrisu, MP for Tolon

Second Deputy Majority Chief Whip: Alex Tetteh Djornobuah, MP for Sefwi Akontombra

This leadership team is expected to play a pivotal role in advancing the NPP’s legislative agenda in Parliament.


About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *